Study Abroad
- 【Announcement】Akhil K Ramesh (International College of Semiconductor Technology - IIT Dual Degree Program, 108)

2022.11.03


The International College of Semiconductor Technology of National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University (NYCU) established a joint dual-degree of doctoral program with the Indian Institutes of Technology, and Akhil K Ramesh from India was the first graduate of this program. He first took courses at the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, came to Taiwan for subsequent studies in 2019, and graduated with a joint dual doctoral degree within 4 years.

Before coming to Taiwan, Akhil had known about the world-class semiconductor technology in Taiwan and it being a global leader in semiconductor fabrication. He learned from his advisor at the Indian Institutes of Technology, Prof. Pushparaj Singh, that the institute was collaborating with NYCU to launch a joint dual-degree of doctoral program. To advance his knowledge of semiconductors, Akhil applied to this program and came to Taiwan to study.

During his study, he had access to high-technology devices, had a chance to work with the industry, and learned about advanced technologies, all of which made him feel grateful for making the decision to come to study in Taiwan. The research projects he has participated in, including two collaborative projects of NYCU with the Taiwan Semiconductor Research Institute and with the Industrial Technology Research Institute, provided him with a further understanding of the actual needs of the semiconductor industry. What he learned was not just textbook knowledge but what he could apply in the industry, such as how to reduce damage to semiconductors during fabrication.

 

Tseng Yuan-chieh, a distinguished professor at the International College of Semiconductor Technology, was Akhil’s advisor. Tseng not only guided him on his research but also provided him with a direction for his dissertation. Despite the fact that Akhil had been in the Ph.D. program for 3 years, he had not published any paper for 1 year after he arrived in Taiwan. He was anxious and turned to Tseng for advice. Under Tseng’s guidance, Akhil published 3 papers in 9 months and later graduated as planned. In addition to passing down knowledge, Tseng also provided Akhil with an emotional shelter. Whenever Akhil was depressed, he would message or call Tseng, and Tseng would spend an afternoon in his office listening to Akhil, alleviating his homesickness, encouraging him, and giving him confidence.

In his spare time in Taiwan, Akhil would cook. He was good at using the Indian spice “masala” and local ingredients from Taiwan to create new dishes. Dumplings were his favorite, and he was also into traveling. Akhil was outgoing and loved to make friends. He also loved to explore new sites and places. He wished that he had enough time to visit every corner of Taiwan to immerse himself in the beauty of this island.

After graduation, Akhil went to Singapore to be a researcher. However, he emphasized that if he had the opportunity in the future, he would come back to Taiwan for work. He was deeply fascinated by the friendliness toward him and the leading semiconductor technology in Taiwan. Therefore, he encouraged NYCU students to apply for this joint dual degree of doctoral program between NYCU and the Indian Institutes of Technology. This program allows students to learn beyond textbook knowledge, familiarize themselves with how the semiconductor industry actually works, and even operate cutting-edge devices. These are all advantages unique to Taiwan!

學生出國
- 【公告】藍安旭-108級國際半導體產業學院印度雙聯博士

2022.11.03


本校國際半導體產業學院與印度理工學院設立雙聯博士學位,來自印度的藍安旭為第一位畢業生,先於印度理工學院新德里分校修讀課程,於2019年來到台灣,並於4年內取得雙聯博士學位。

來台灣之前,藍安旭已知道台灣的半導體技術超前,是世界的先驅,也耳聞半導體產業發展成熟,為全球的領頭羊。自印度理工學院的指導教授得知,其母校與本校合作設立雙聯博士學位,為了精進半導體相關知識,藍安旭申請學程,跨海來台求學。

求學間,本校的高科技儀器、產學合作機會與先進技術,讓藍安旭感謝自己做了赴台求學的正確決定。不管是本校與台灣半導體研究中心,還是和工業技術研究院合作的研究計畫,都讓藍安旭更了解半導體產業的實際需求,所學知識不再是紙上談兵,得以實際應用於業界,例如:如何降低製程元件損傷。

國際半導體產業學院的特聘教授曾院介老師為藍安旭的指導教授,不僅在研究上予以指導,亦給予他論文寫作的方向。已修讀博士學位3年的藍安旭,抵台1年後仍未發表論文,焦慮的他向曾院介老師尋求幫助,在老師的指導下,9個月內他發表了3篇論文,日後也順利畢業。除了知識上的傳承,曾院介老師也擔任藍安旭溫暖的避風港,每當藍安旭情緒低落,就會傳訊息或撥電話給老師,老師會在辦公室用一個下午的時間聽他說話、排解鄉愁,並鼓勵他、給予他信心。

在台期間,藍安旭會在研究之餘增進廚藝,他擅長利用印度香料「瑪莎拉(masala)」和台灣本土食材,迸出台印合璧的新滋味,而水餃是他最愛的美食。旅遊也是藍安旭的興趣之一,個性活潑外向的他喜歡交朋友,更喜歡去新景點、探索新世界,他希望自己有足夠時間走遍全台各地,看盡台灣的美。

雙聯博士學位畢業後,藍安旭赴新加坡擔任研究員。但他強調,若日後有機會,他希望返台就業,台灣的親切環境和領先的半導體技術讓他深深著迷。因此,他十分推薦學弟妹申請本校國際半導體產業學院與印度理工學院的雙聯博士學位,不僅能增進課本外的知識,從產學合作中更熟悉半導體產業的運作,也能學習操作尖端技術的儀器,這些都是台灣獨有的優勢!